Conquer Cancer Announces 2021 ASCO Annual Meeting Merit Award Recipients

Vicki Kilpatrick
From left to right: Josephine Lopes Cardozo, MD; Abdul Rafeh Naqash, MD; Antonio Di Meglio, MD; Amy Yuan Wang, MD, MPH; Alanna Church, MD

From left to right: Josephine Lopes Cardozo, MD; Abdul Rafeh Naqash, MD; Antonio Di Meglio, MD; Amy Yuan Wang, MD, MPH; Alanna Church, MD

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – Conquer Cancer, the ASCO Foundation, is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2021 ASCO Annual Meeting Merit Awards. 

These distinguished awards support oncology trainees who are first authors on abstracts selected for presentation at the ASCO Annual Meeting. This year, Conquer Cancer will recognize 164 recipients with Merit Awards. These oncology professionals are recognized for their respective field and research advancements within the cancer care community.  

See the complete list of 2021 ASCO Annual Meeting Merit Award recipients.

Special Merit Awards are presented each year to trainees and junior faculty who have the top-ranking abstracts for the ASCO Annual Meeting. The ASCO Scientific Program Committee will present five recipients with Special Merit Awards in their respective abstract categories: 

Josephine Lopes Cardozo, MD, Netherlands Cancer Institute

  • Receives the Bradley Stuart Beller Endowed Merit Award   
  • Supported by the Friends and Family of Dr. and Mrs. Ronald Beller 

Abdul Rafeh Naqash, MD, National Cancer Institute 

  • Receives the Allen S. Lichter, MD, Endowed Merit Award   

Antonio Di Meglio, MD, Gustave Roussy 

  • Receives the Pain and Symptom Management Special Merit Award   

Amy Yuan Wang, MD, MPH, University of Chicago Medicine 

  • Receives the Brigid Leventhal Special Merit Award   
  • Supported by The Berry Family In honor of Jake Berry  

Alanna Church, MD, Boston Children’s Hospital 

  • Receives the James B. Nachman Endowed ASCO Junior Faculty Award in Pediatric Oncology 
  • Supported by Friends and Family of Dr. James B. Nachman


The 2021 Conquer Cancer Merit Awards are sponsored by: 

 Anonymous, AbbVie, Inc., ASCO Employees, Association of Northern California Oncologists, AstraZeneca, BeiGene, Friends and Family of Dr. and Mrs. Ronald Beller, The Berry Family, Dr. and Mrs. Douglas W. Blayney, Breast Cancer Research Foundation®, Bristol Myers Squibb, Jonathan K. and Cora Y. Cho Charitable Fund, Michael Craig Cox, PharmD, MHS, BCOP, Eisai Inc., Estate of Darla C. Ellis, Epiphany Partners Inc., G1 Therapeutics, GlaxoSmithKline Oncology, Harborside, Friends, Colleagues, and Family of Joe Hogan, Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals Inc., Kimberly Irvine, Michael Kelley, MD & Elise Hoffman, PharmD, Nicole M. Kuderer, MD and Gary H. Lyman, MD, MPH, FASCO, Natasha B. Leighl, MD, FASCO, William G. Leonard and Victoria Wang, MD, PhD, William T. Leslie, MD, Lilly, Loxo Oncology Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Eli Lilly and Company, Therese Marie Mulvey, MD, FASCO, Friends and Family of Dr. James B. Nachman, New Rhein Healthcare, LLC, Pharmacyclics LLC, an AbbVie Company and Janssen Biotech, Inc., Dr. Kathleen Pritchard Medicine Professional Corporation, Sarah Cannon Research Institute, Frances A. Shepherd, MD, FASCO, Stephen A. Sherwin, MD, Drs. Rachna and Puneet Shroff, Syndax Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Nizar M. Tannir, MD, Anthony and Marilyn Tolcher and Dr. Michael and Deborah Troner.

This listing is current as of June 11, 2021.