Conquer Cancer announces 2022 Genitourinary Cancers Symposium Merit Awards

Vicki Kilpatrick
ASCO Genitourinary Cancers Symposium logo paired with Conquer Cancer Merit Award Recipient logo

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – Conquer Cancer®, the ASCO Foundation, is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2022 Genitourinary Cancers Symposium Merit Awards.   

These distinguished awards recognize oncology fellows and trainees who are first authors on top-ranking abstracts selected for presentation at the ASCO Genitourinary Cancers Symposium on February 17- 19, 2022.    

These 30 oncology professionals are recognized for their respective field and research advancements within the cancer care community:    

Elio Adib, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham and Women's Hospital 

Bayan A. Al-Share, MD, Barbara Anna Karmanos Cancer Institute 

David Joseph Benjamin, MD, University of California, Irvine 

Nicolas Benziane, MD, Bergonié Institute 

Laura Bukavina, MD, MPH, University Hospitals, Cleveland Medical Center 

Neal Shiv Chawla, MD, City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center 

Hielke Martijn de Vries, MD, Netherlands Cancer Institute 

Nazli Dizman, MD, City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center 

Matthew Scott Ernst, MD, Tom Baker Cancer Center, University of Calgary 

Brendan John Guercio, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Changchuan Jiang, MPH, MD, Roswell Park Cancer Center 

Adam McLain Kase, MD, Mayo Clinic Florida 

Abhishek Kumar, MD, Duke University 

Michael Lattanzi, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Ting Martin Ma, PhD, MD, University of California, Los Angeles 

Luis A. Meza, MD, City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center 

Syed Arsalan Ahmed Naqvi, MBBS, Mayo Clinic 

Vishal Navani, MRCP, MBBS, Tom Baker Cancer Center, University of Calgary 

Irbaz Bin Riaz, MBBS, MS, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute 

Ava Saidian, MD, University of California San Diego, Moores Cancer Center 

Nicolas Sayegh, MD, Huntsman Cancer Institute-University of Utah Health Care 

Kyrillus Shohdy, MBBS, The Christie NHS Foundation Trust 

Nicholas I. Simon, MD, Northwestern University 

Udit Singhal, MD, University of Michigan 

Qurat Ul Ain Riaz Sipra, MD, University of Arizona 

Hong Truong, MD, MS, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Irene Tsung, MD, University of Michigan Health System 

Wesley Yip, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center 

Zeynep Busra Zengin, MD, City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center 

Li Zhou, MD, Peking University Cancer Hospital & Institute 


The 2022 Conquer Cancer Merit Awards are supported by:   

Anonymous, ASCO Employees, Association of Northern California Oncologists, AstraZeneca, Friends and Family of Dr. and Mrs. Ronald Beller, Dr. and Mrs. Douglas W. Blayney, Breast Cancer Research Foundation®, Bristol Myers Squibb, Jonathan K. and Cora Y. Cho Charitable Fund, Friends, Family, and Colleagues of Dr. Cecil "Pete" Coggins, Michael Craig Cox, PharmD, MHS, BCOP, Trailblazing patient Mark A. Crafts and Generous Supporters of Team Crafty, Bill and Karen Dahut, Eisai Inc., Estate of Darla C. Ellis, Epiphany Partners Inc., Flatiron Health, Inc., G1 Therapeutics, GlaxoSmithKline Oncology, Harborside, Friends, Colleagues, and Family of Joe Hogan, Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals Inc., Kimberly Irvine, Michael Kelley, MD & Elise Hoffman, PharmD, Nicole M. Kuderer, MD and Gary H. Lyman, MD, MPH, FASCO, Natasha B. Leighl, MD, FASCO, William T. Leslie, MD, Loxo Oncology Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Eli Lilly and Company, Maryland/DC Society of Clinical Oncology, Therese Marie Mulvey, MD, FASCO, Friends and Family of Dr. James B. Nachman, New Rhein Healthcare, LLC, Pharmacyclics LLC, an AbbVie Company and Janssen Biotech, Inc, Dr. Kathleen Pritchard Medicine Professional Corporation, Sarah Cannon Research Institute, Frances A. Shepherd, MD, FASCO, Stephen A. Sherwin, MD, Drs. Rachna and Puneet Shroff, Supporters of Innovations and Research in Medical Education, Syndax Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Nizar M. Tannir, MD, Anthony and Marilyn Tolcher, Dr. Michael and Deborah Troner, and The WWWW Foundation Inc. (QuadW) and The QuadW Fund of Communities Foundation of Texas