Conquer Cancer Announces 2024 ASCO Annual Meeting Merit Award Recipients

Vicki Kilpatrick
From left to right: Mikalah Thomas; Lindsay Mattick, PhD; Rachel Hurley, MD, PhD; Shan Gu, MS; Leonora Slatnick, MD, MSCS

ALEXANDRIA, Va. – Conquer Cancer®, the ASCO Foundation, is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2024 ASCO Annual Meeting Merit Awards. 

Annual Meeting Merit Awards support students and trainees who are first authors on abstracts selected for presentation at the ASCO Annual Meeting. This year, Conquer Cancer will recognize 138 recipients with Merit Awards. These recipients are recognized for their respective field and research advancements within the cancer care community.   

The 2024 ASCO Annual Meeting Merit Award Recipients: 

View full recipient list.

Special Merit Awards are presented each year to students, trainees, and junior faculty who have the top-ranking abstracts for the ASCO Annual Meeting. The ASCO Scientific Program Committee presents five recipients with Special Merit Awards in their respective abstract categories.  

The 2024 Special Merit Award recipients are: 

Mikalah Thomas, Morehouse School of Medicine 

  • Receives the Bradley Stuart Beller Endowed Merit Award 
  • Supported by Friends and Family of Dr. and Mrs. Ronald Beller 

Lindsey Mattick, PhD, MPH, University of Rochester Medical Center 

  • Receives Allen S. Lichter, MD, Endowed Merit Award 

Rachel Hurley, MD, PhD, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia  

  • Receives the Brigid Leventhal Special Merit Award

Shan Gu, MS, Xiyuan Hospital of China Academy of Chinese Medical Sciences 

  • Receives the Pain and Symptom Management Special Merit Award

Leonora Slatnick, MD, MSCS 

  • Receives the James B. Nachman Endowed ASCO Junior Faculty Award in Pediatric Oncology 
  • Supported by Friends and Family of Dr. James B. Nachman 


The 2024 Conquer Cancer Merit Awards are sponsored by:  

The 2024 Conquer Cancer® Merit Awards are generously supported by Terri Armstrong, Chris Armstrong, and Mark Gilbert, ASCO Employees, Association of Northern California Oncologists, AstraZeneca, BeiGene, Friends and Family of Dr. and Mrs. Ronald Beller, Dr. and Mrs. Douglas W. Blayney, Breast Cancer Research Foundation®, Bristol Myers Squibb, Stephen A. Cannistra, MD, Jonathan K. and Cora Y. Cho Charitable Fund, Friends, Family, and Colleagues of Dr. Cecil "Pete" Coggins, Michael Craig Cox, PharmD, MHS, BCOP, Trailblazing patient Mark A. Crafts and Generous Supporters of Team Crafty, Bill and Karen Dahut,  Eisai Inc., Estate of Darla C. Ellis, Epiphany Partners, Inc., Flatiron Health, Inc., GlaxoSmithKline Oncology, Harborside, Friends, Colleagues, and Family of Joe Hogan, John Hohneker, MD and Donald Vincent, Melissa M. Hudson, MD, FASCO and Albert E. Weeks, MD, Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals Inc, Kimberly Irvine, Family of Diane L. Keith, Nicole M. Kuderer, MD and Gary H. Lyman, MD, MPH, FASCO, Natasha B. Leighl, MD, FASCO, William T. Leslie, MD, Lilly, Bora Lim, MD and Pavlos Msaouel, MD, PhD, Loxo Oncology Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Eli Lilly and Company, Maryland/District of Columbia Society of Clinical Oncology, Friends and Colleagues of Theresa Mays, Melanoma Research Foundation, Therese Marie Mulvey, MD, FASCO, Friends and Family of Dr. James B. Nachman, New Rhein Healthcare, LLC, Friends and Colleagues of Dr. Larry Norton, Dr. Kathleen Pritchard Medicine Professional Corporation, The QuadW Foundation, Gabrielle Betty Rocque, MD, MSPH, Sarah Cannon Research Institute, Frances A. Shepherd, MD, FASCO, Stephen A. Sherwin, MD, Drs. Rachna and Puneet Shroff,  Supporters of Innovations and Research in Medical Education, Syndax Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Nizar M. Tannir, MD, Anthony and Marilyn Tolcher, Dr. Michael and Deborah Troner, and William S. Yaus, Jeffrey W. Yaus, and Kathleen Y. Wolin, ScD.

This listing is current as of April 15, 2024.