Conquer Cancer Announces New Board Members and Board Appointments

From left to right: Bill Behkne, Dr. Otis W. Brawley

From left to right: Bill Behkne, Dr. Otis W. Brawley

Alexandria, Va. — Conquer Cancer®, the ASCO Foundation, welcomes two new members to its Board of Directors.

Bill Behnke and Otis Webb Brawley, MD, MACP, FASCO will help guide Conquer Cancer as it works toward its vision of a world where cancer is prevented or cured, and every survivor is healthy.

“Conquer Cancer is thrilled to welcome Bill and Otis to our Board of Directors,” said Chief Executive Officer Nancy R. Daly, MS, MPH. “We’re also incredibly grateful for their willingness to volunteer their time and resources to advance our mission and to help us make an impact on every cancer, every patient, everywhere.”

With more than 25 years of experience with sales and business development in the healthcare industry, Mr. Behnke is the CEO and Founder of the Behnke Group, a leading healthcare consulting group based in San Antonio, Texas. Founded in 2005, the Behnke Group provides innovative, expert consulting services to growing healthcare companies aiming to increase sales and realize their greater business goals.

Dr. Brawley is the Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Oncology and Epidemiology at Johns Hopkins University. He is an authority on cancer screening and prevention and leads a broad interdisciplinary research effort focused on addressing cancer health disparities at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, and the Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center. Brawley is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (London), a fellow of the American Society of Clinical Oncology, a fellow of the American College of Epidemiology, and one of the few physicians to be named a Master of the American College of Physicians. He is also an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine.

The following Board members have also been appointed to officer positions for a one-year term, effective January 1, 2024:

  • Howard A. Burris III, MD, FACP, FASCO, Chair
  • Alexander W. Casdin, FASCO, Treasurer
  • Amy C. Peterson, MD, Secretary

The following Board members have been reappointed for three-year terms, effective January 1, 2024:

  • Kathryn Beal, MD
  • Howard Burris III, MD, FACP, FASCO
  • Robert Mayer, MD, FASCO
  • Gerald McDougall
  • Deanna van Gestel

“Our board plays such a critical role in guiding us in our mission to accelerate research and empower people everywhere to conquer cancer,” Ms. Daly said. “We want to congratulate each of them on their appointments and express our gratitude for their continued service and dedication.”