Conquer Cancer Foundation Awards $5.3 Million to Support Researchers Making Critical Strides in Clinical Cancer Research

June 2, 2016

Media Contact:
Gina Comottor
(571) 483-1375

ALEXANDRIA, Va. - The Conquer Cancer Foundation of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) announced today the recipients of the 2016 Young Investigator Awards, Career Development Awards, and Advanced Clinical Research Award in Breast Cancer. The research of this year's awardees focuses on emerging topics in the field of oncology, such as new therapies for people with breast cancer, communication and coping strategies within the cancer community, and innovative treatments for Hodgkin lymphoma, among other topics. The Conquer Cancer Foundation will officially honor the recipients during the Grants and Awards Ceremony at the 2016 ASCO Annual Meeting, taking place June 3 - 7 in Chicago.

"These awards provide vital support to the best and brightest cancer researchers in our field at pivotal points in their careers," said Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD, Chair of the Conquer Cancer Foundation Board of Directors. "They ensure that these researchers are equipped to continue investigations that can lead to significant advances in cancer care and treatment, increased survival rates, and better outcomes for people with the disease."

Advanced Clinical Research Award
The Advanced Clinical Research Award (ACRA) funds investigators who are committed to conducting original cancer research in an area not currently funded. The 2016 ACRA in Breast Cancer recipient is Carey Anders, MD, of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Dr. Anders will receive $450,000 over three years to investigate the use of molecular dissection and immune characterization of breast cancer brain metastases to predict outcomes and reveal novel therapeutic strategies. This grant is supported by the Breast Cancer Research Foundation®.

Career Development Award
The Career Development Award (CDA) provides funding to clinical investigators who have recently received a faculty appointment at an academic center to perform patient-oriented cancer research. This year, 10 recipients will each receive a $200,000 grant over three years.

View the complete list of 2016 CDA recipients and their research projects »

Young Investigator Award
First awarded in 1984, the Young Investigator Award (YIA) provides funding to promising investigators to encourage and promote quality research in clinical oncology. The purpose of this grant is to fund physicians during the transition from a fellowship program to a faculty appointment.

This year's YIA recipients will each receive a one-year grant of $50,000 to fund their investigative studies as they begin their careers in oncology research. In 2013, Conquer Cancer Foundation began offering endowed Young Investigator Awards and is pleased that six endowed Young Investigator Awards are being presented this year to outstanding early-career researchers. Endowed awards honor the legacies of those for whom the awards are named and enable the Conquer Cancer Foundation to support these grants in perpetuity.

View the complete list of 2016 YIA recipients and their research projects »

Supporting Organizations
The 2016 Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO Career Development Awards are supported by the Adenoid Cystic Carcinoma Research Foundation; Amgen; Astellas; AstraZeneca; the Breast Cancer Research Foundation®; Genentech BioOncology™; Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC; Lilly; Michael's Mission; Roche; Takeda Oncology; and the Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation.

The 2016 Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO Young Investigator Awards are supported by Anonymous; AbbVie, Inc.; American Association for Cancer Research; American Society of Clinical Oncology; Amgen; ASCO and Conquer Cancer Foundation Boards of Directors; ASCO State Affiliate Council and ASCO Clinical Practice Committee; AstraZeneca; Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; the Breast Cancer Research Foundation®; Celgene Corporation; The Cholangiocarcinoma Foundation; Conquer Cancer Foundation; Conquer Cancer Foundation Women Who Conquer Cancer; Eisai Inc.; EMD Serono Inc.; Ethicon; Fibrolamellar Cancer Foundation; Florida Society of Clinical Oncology; Gateway for Cancer Research; Genentech BioOncology™; Gilead Sciences, Inc.; HELSINN; Janssen Oncology; Janssen Scientific Affairs, LLC; Journal of Clinical Oncology; the Kidney Cancer Association; The John and Elizabeth Leonard Family Foundation; Lilly; Lung Cancer Alliance; J. Edward Mahoney Foundation; Merck & Co., Inc.; Novartis Oncology; Susan K. Parsons, MD, and Walter Armstrong; Pfizer Oncology; The Reid R. Sacco Adolescent and Young Adult Cancer Alliance; Aaron and Barbro Sasson; Strike 3 Foundation; Takeda Oncology; Triple Negative Breast Cancer Foundation; and The WWWW Foundation, Inc. (QuadW)  and The Sarcoma Fund of the QuadW Foundation of Communities Foundation of Texas.

Supporter listings are current as of May 31, 2016.

About The Conquer Cancer Foundation
The Conquer Cancer Foundation (CCF) was created by the world's foremost cancer doctors of the American Society of Clinical Oncology to seek dramatic advances in the prevention, treatment and cures of all types of cancer. Toward the vision of a world free from the fear of cancer, CCF works to conquer this disease by funding breakthrough cancer research and sharing cutting-edge knowledge with patients and physicians worldwide, and by improving the quality of care and access to care, enhancing the lives of all who are touched by cancer.