Tweleve Researchers Honored With Conquer Cancer Merit Award

Merit Award Emblem

The Conquer Cancer Foundation of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Gastrointestinal Cancers Merit Awards. Conquer Cancer Merit Awards recognize oncology fellows’ and trainees’ high-quality research submitted in abstracts to an ASCO-sponsored or cosponsored meeting, and the selected early-career researchers of the Gastrointestinal Cancers Merit Awards will present their findings at the 2019 Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium in San Francisco, CA.

The following individuals are 2019 Gastrointestinal Cancers Symposium Merit Award recipients:

·        Francesca Battaglin, MD, USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, Keck School of Medicine

Genetic variants in the lipopolysaccharide (LPS) receptor complex and TLR4 expression levels to predict efficacy of cetuximab (cet) in patients (pts) with metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC): Data from the FIRE-3 phase III trial. (Abstract 564)

·        Charalampos Floudas, MD, DMSc, MS, National Cancer Institute

Combined immune checkpoint inhibition (ICI) with tremelimumab and durvalumab in patients with advanced hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) or biliary tract carcinomas (BTC). (Abstract 336)

·        Elisa Fontana, MD, The Institute of Cancer Research and The Royal Marsden Hospital

Characterisation of chemoradiation-induced changes in immune cells and targets for personalized therapy in locally advanced rectal cancer (LARC). (Abstract 589)

·        Adriana Gamboa, MD, Winship Cancer Institute, Emory University

Duodenal neuroendocrine tumors: Somewhere between the pancreas and small bowel? (Abstract 377)

·        Uqba Khan, MD, Weill Cornell Medical College

Impact of antibiotic use on response to treatment with immune checkpoint inhibitors. (Abstract 143)

·        Jwa Hoon Kim, MD, Asan Medical Center, University of Ulsan College of Medicine

Predictive biomarkers for the efficacy of nivolumab as ≥ third-line therapy in patients with advanced gastric cancer (AGC): From a subset analysis of ATTRACTION-2 phase III trial. (Abstract 152)

·        Michael Kuan-Ching Lee, FRACP, MBChB, British Columbia Cancer Agency

Comprehensive genomic analysis of metastatic pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (mPDAC) reveals a significant proportion of clinical actionable aberrations. (Abstract 273)

·        Sashidhar Manthravadi, MD, University of Kansas Medical Center

Total neoadjuvant therapy compared with standard therapy in locally advanced rectal cancer: A systematic review and meta-analysis. (Abstract 709)

·        Laura Musselwhite, MD, Duke Cancer Institute, Duke University Medical Center

Validation of the NCI Colorectal Cancer Risk Assessment Tool for baseline advanced neoplasia in a veterans cohort. (Abstract 521)

·        Madiha Naseem, MD, USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, Keck School of Medicine

Characteristics of colorectal cancer (CRC) patients with BRCA1 and BRCA2 mutations. (Abstract 606)

·        Alberto Puccini, MD, USC Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center, Keck School of Medicine

Comprehensive molecular profiling of signet-ring-cell carcinoma (SRCC) from the stomach and colon. (Abstract 63)

·        Astrid Slagter, MSc, Antoni van Leeuwenhoek/Netherlands Cancer Institute

A comparison of elderly versus nonelderly patients in the CRITICS gastric cancer trial. (Abstract 81)

The 2019 Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO Merit Awards in gastrointestinal cancers are supported by Agios Pharmaceuticals, Inc.; AstraZeneca; Friends and Family of Dr. and Mrs. Ronald Beller; Dr. and Mrs. Douglas W. Blayney; Breast Cancer Research Foundation®; Bristol-Myers Squibb; Jonathan K. and Cora Y. Cho Charitable Fund; Eisai Inc.; Estate of Darla C. Ellis; G1 Therapeutics; Dr. Arti Hurria and Dr. Hyman B. Muss; Ipsen Biopharmaceuticals Inc.; Dr. Michael Kelley and Dr. Elise Hoffman; Kidney Cancer Association; Lilly; Loxo Oncology; Friends and Family of Dr. James B. Nachman; Dr. Kathleen Pritchard Medicine Professional Corporation; Sarah Cannon Research Institute; Dr. Frances A. Shepherd; Dr Stephen A. Sherwin; Drs. Rachna and Puneet Shroff; Dr. Nizar M. Tannir; TESARO; and Dr. Michael and Mrs. Deborah Troner.

For more information on the Merit Awards program or instructions on how to apply, visit CONQUER.ORG/Merit-Award